General Skilled Migration

The general skilled migration program is an Australian Government initiative, which is aimed at young, highly skilled people who can quickly make a contribution to the Australian economy. The program, by attracting highly skilled migrants, helps to overcome skill shortage in Australia. The General Skilled Migration Program is for professional and other skilled migrants who are not sponsored by an employer and who have skills in particular occupations required in Australia.


For skilled migration to Australia, you must be able to satisfy the following requirements to make an application.

Invitation to apply:

You can only apply for this visa if you have been invited to apply for the visa. The invitation will be issued subject to a specified timeframe in which you are to lodge your application.


You must be under 50years of age when you are invited to apply.

English Language:

The threshold English language requirement is Competent English, which is an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test result showing a minimum score of 6 in each of the four components of the IELTS test or, an Occupational English Test (OET) attaining a score of at least B in each of the four components of an OET as specified by the minister. For some occupations, the assessing authority may require a higher level of English as part of their skills assessment process.

Nominated Occupation:

When you register your Expression of interest (EOI), you must nominate a skilled occupation which fits your skills and qualifications. Your nominated occupation must be on the Skilled Occupation Lists (SOL).

EOI score and assessed score:

Once a prospective applicant has submitted their EOI, it will be ranked on the basis of the claims they made about their skills and attributes. Invitations will be issued to those prospective applicants who achieve the highest rankings, subject to the operation of the occupational ceiling.

If a prospective applicant receives an invitation to apply and makes an application, their application will be assessed against the points test. In order to be granted a visa, they will have to meet the pass mark ‘ currently set as 60 points. The points score assessed must also be equal or greater to the value of the points that were claimed in the EOI.

Skills Assessment:

Before you receive an invitation, you must have had your skills assessed as suitable for your occupation by an assessing authority for your nominated occupation.

You also need to find out if the occupation you have nominated requires you to be registered, licensed, or be a member of a professional or industry organization.

If your skills assessment was made on the basis of a qualification obtained in Australia while you were the holder of a student visa, the qualification must have been awarded as a result of studying a CRICOS registered course.

General Skilled Migration Visa Categories

Skilled Independentsubclass 189
Skilled Nominatedsubclass 190
Skilled Regionalsubclass 489